Honorary Doctor of Science Degrees

1951 Iowa Wesleyan College
1957 Grinnell College
1958 Coe College
1959 Cornell College
1960 University of Dubuque
1961 University of Michigan
1961 Northwestern University
1963 Illinois College
1966 Butler College
1966 Boston College
1967 Southampton College
1969 Augustana College
1982 St. Ambrose College
1987 University of Bridgeport

Honors and Awards

1961 Elliot Cresson medal, Franklin Institute
1962 David and Florence Guggenheim International Astronautics Award
1963 John A. Fleming Award, American Geophysical Union
1963 Golden Omega Award, Electrical Insulation Conference
1964 Commander of the Order du Merite pour la Recherche et L'Invention
1964 Iowa Broadcasters Association Award
1972-85 Carver Distinguished Professor, University of Iowa
1974 NASA Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement
1975 Distinguished Fellow of the Iowa Academy of Science
1976 U.S. Navy's Distinguished Public Service Award
1977 Recipient of the William Bowie Medal for "Outstanding Contributions to Fundamental Geophysics and for Unselfish Cooperation in Research" [39th Presentation, AGU Spring 1977 Meeting]
1978 Gold Medal, Royal Astronomical Society
1978 Award of Merit, American Consulting Engineers Council
1982 Space Science Award, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
1982 The Governor's Science Medal
1984 Recipient of the 1984 COSPAR Award for "Outstanding Contributions to Space Science"
1984 Inducted into the International Space Hall of Fame, Alamogordo, New Mexico, 29 September 1984
1986 Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Iowa
1986 Member of The Franklin Institute of the State of Pennsylvania for the Promotion of the Mechanic Arts [Gold and Silver Salute]
1986 First recipient of AAAS-Philip Hauge Abelson Prize

National Medal of Science 

1987 Society of Satellite Professionals Hall of Fame Award -- For Outstanding Contribution to the Field of Satellite Technology
1987 Sigma Xi's 1987 William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement
1987 National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges' University of Iowa Centennial Alumnus
1989 Crafoord Prize, Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden
1990 The 1990 Nevada Medal
1990 Hancher-Finkbine Medallion in Recognition of Leadership and Service to the University of Iowa
1990 Cosmos Club Award for 1990
1990 Nansen Medal and Nansen Prize Award, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Oslo, Norway
1991 National Space Club Science Award
1991 National Science Board Vannevar Bush Award
1992 James Harlan Award for Exemplary Service to the Nation
1992 University of Iowa Presidential Award
1992 Paul Harris Fellow/Iowa City Rotary Club
2004 American Polar Society Honorary Membership Award
2006 Smithsonian National Air & Space Museum Trophy for Lifetime Achievement
2006 National Space Club Goddard Memorial Trophy